Finally 40

40 days ago I set out to blog my way to 40. My goal was to explore 40 different facets of who I am, embrace 40 days of newfound friendship, rock 40 days of fun fashion, encourage 40 days of reflection and enjoy 40 days of photography.  

I did write everyday for 40 days and loved every minute. I failed at blogging everyday for 40 days. I published 27 blogs total. I have 17 additional drafts that I started, but I did not wish to produce filler content, so if I did not feel it was ready or worthy, I did not post. 

I learned a bunch about blogging and a lot about myself. I have met lots of new people and became better acquainted with old friends. I had fun expressing myself through fashion and loved being in front of the camera instead of behind.

Guess what? I’m 40 y’all!!! Finally, I get to say farewell to my 30’s and embrace 40. It feels good to be here. I never thought I would live beyond 36, so seeing 40 feels fantastic. This year has been filled with some of my favorite memories. Memories I have dreamed of since I was a little girl. 

This year has been a golden year for friendship. My friends are more like sisters and my sister is one of my closest friends. My friends encourage and collaborate with one another in wonderful ways. We have supported each other through the birth of both babies and businesses, celebrated the release of albums and books, but most importantly we have prayed for one another through life’s heartaches and headaches. 

For today’s post I thought it would be fitting for me to thank YOU. Without your companionship, 40 Days to 40 would have been an online diary, but because of your presence and participation I am an official blogger! Thank you for reading the overflow of my heart. Your comments, likes, shares, subscriptions, and private messages have meant so much to me. 

The blogosphere has embraced me with open arms. I have enjoyed being able to peer into your world and savor your words. Open book living is the only life for me! I will continue to blog on a weekly basis. Who knows, maybe even more… In the meantime, keep seeing, saying, and setting people free. The world needs your words, because your words change the world. 

Babes Who Blog

Special thanks to my daughter Trinity for editing my blogs, my husband Melvin and friend Beverly, for reading every word I wrote, my friend April for helping me get unstuck if ever I faced a fashion crisis and my fairy godmother Camil for making me feel beautiful from the inside out. My sister Rocky for catching any edits me or Trinity may have missed. My friends Peaches, Rashida, Terri, Katie W., Katie T., CarlyAnn and Chanda for encouraging me to share my truth always and Ms. Evelyn for faithfully being my human filter who makes sure I write from a pure place. I love you ladies to life and I am thankful for your presence in my world!
Time to rock 40!!! 

2 thoughts on “Finally 40

  1. Congratulations on your journey to 40! Now that you are pro, kind of, the sky is the limit. I have been trying to blog for about 5 years, if not more, and I just got the knock of it in 2016.

    On Thu, Dec 29, 2016 at 10:55 AM, stopwritethere wrote:

    > stopwritethere posted: “40 days ago I set out to blog my way to 40. My > goal was to explore 40 different facets of who I am, embrace 40 days of > newfound friendship, rock 40 days of fun fashion, encourage 40 days of > reflection and enjoy 40 days of photography. I did write ” >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome!! I have so enjoyed your blogging journey. It has helped me to reflect on my own journey as well. What a blessing you have been!! As always, I love getting to watch you GLOW, GROW and shine! Welcome to your 40’s. I am having the most fulfilling time of my life and I wish you an abundance of blessings in your new year. Love you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

