My Make Up Bag

I will never forget the first time I was asked to prepare a beauty talk for a group of teen girls. I was thrilled that they chose me. I wish I could tell you that I fasted and prayed leading up to the event, but I did not. As a matter of fact, I did nothing. Well, that is not entirely true; I did obsess over what outfit I should wear.

I remember praying, but it was not for a message or even for the girls. It was a prayer of desperation. I pleaded for God to cover my mess. By the time I got dressed, it was already time to go. I grabbed my makeup bag and quickly left for the event.

I drove to the event with tear filled eyes with no clue of what to say. I was glad that I was not wearing mascara; because, I did not want to walk in the room looking like a raccoon. I sat in the parking lot watching leaders carry in props for the presentation. Their process of getting ready highlighted how I was not. I felt unworthy to be their guest. I felt convicted and vain. As I started to close the car door, I heard a voice say, “Don’t forget your make up bag.”

MY MAKE UP BAG!!! I quickly hopped back into my car and grabbed a journal and a pen. As fast as my hand could write, I wrote the following words:

  • Foundation
  • Eyes
  • Lips
  • Hair/Head
  • Nails/Hands
  • Clothes
  • Fragrance

God downloaded an entire message within just a few moments complete with scripture references. My prayer had been answered, God covered me in my weakness. At each bullet point I encouraged the girls to comment and share what they thought the items in my make up bag were used for. The symbolism in the lesson was something they noticed right away. “What is the purpose of foundation?” One girl shouted, “To cover your blemishes!” Then another yelled, “Your foundation is what you build your make up on top of, just like your foundation in life!”

The lesson practically taught itself. These young women were wise beyond their years. They could see the parallel before I could get the points out of my mouth. It was a great way of breaking the ice, and we bonded instantly as a group. Although I do not usually multi-task well, I actually applied my makeup in their presence for a little added drama in between each point.  It gave us the opportunity to share what our make up should be.

8 Aspects Of Your Make Up

  1. Foundation: Which are you made of; the blemishes you are concealing, or the stripes by which you are healed?  What makes you blush?  You can tell the level of integrity of a person by what they find funny.
  2. Eyes: Who is your example?  Where is your focus?  When we focus on God, everything else comes into focus. (Matthew 6:33)
  3. Lips: What is on your tongue?  What the heart is full of is what the mouth will soon speak. (Luke 6:45)
  4.  Hair: What are you thinking about?  The bible tells us what to think about. (Philippians 4:8)
  5. Manicure: Are your hands clean?  Who is holding your hand?  Whose blood is on your hands? (Psalm 24:4, Exodus 17:12, Ezekiel 3:17-18)
  6. Pedicure: Who are you running with and where are you going?  Do you bring the good news?  Do you know how to shake the dust from your feet? (Isaiah 52:7)
  7. Clothes: Put on the whole armor of God.  Be clothed in righteousness.  Put on the Lord Jesus like a garment. (Ephesians 6:10-18, Isaiah 61:10)
  8. Fragrance: To some you will be the fragrance of Christ. To others you will be the aroma of death. (2 Corinthians 2:15)

Even though I arrived feeling irresponsible and embarrassed before God, by the end of the talk I knew confidently God was in total control. He gave me beauty instead of ashes and I learned a valuable lesson. Your spiritual, emotional and mental make up are far more important than what is in your make up bag. True beauty is not external, it is always found within.

Don’t focus on decorating your exterior by doing your hair or putting on fancy jewelry or wearing fashionable clothes; let your adornment be what’s inside—the real you, the lasting beauty of a gracious and quiet spirit, in which God delights.” I Peter 3:1-6 (VOICE)

 What does your make up bag tell you about your life?

2 thoughts on “My Make Up Bag

Leave a Reply

