Forecasting Your Future

I have always been one to focus on the future; which is an interesting concept because how can one really focus on what they can not see? I believe faith allows us to foresee the unseen. When I was a high school Senior I filled out a page in my scrap book that said, “In 10 years I Can See Myself…” I predicted that I would be a teacher, happily married, would have 5 children (we have 6) vacationing in the Bahamas, (I hope my husband reads this,) occasionally visiting Lake Michigan, and successful at absolutely everything! A great wife, perfect mom, true friend, in touch with my family, active in my community, and that God would always be first in my life. Wow! What a perky perspective.

img_20161122_110056
Even though I spelled “dreadlocks” wrong, by the time I was 28 I was the exact description of what I forecasted at age 18. Almost eerie, right?

Every other Monday I get the awesome honor of co writing and co teaching with some remarkable women. We teach journal writing to 7th & 8th grade girls. We invited our “Freedom Writers” to forecast their future and before we started each woman shared a word of wisdom that can only be gleaned from the power of hindsight. Experience is a great teacher. It was a heartfelt moment in which our past heartaches, headaches and nonsense made sense. We spoke in quiet voices almost as if we would awaken our past if we spoke too loudly. We each sought to encourage our girls to focus on things that have eternal value and not just material worth. Our counsel to them caused me to write from a much different place than I did as an 18 year old girl. Below is my forecast for where I see myself 10 years from now.

wordswag_1479833334091
A Michigan girl in a Alabama world.

When I Grow Up

I hope to live, move and have my being in Jesus. I wish to share the gospel in love with grace, effortlessly. I want to have joy unspeakable, faith unsinkable and determination that’s unstoppable. I want to be gentle, meek, and kind but, also immovable, unshakable and steadfast. I would absolutely love to be a grandmother who is physically fit enough to relieve my children of their kids so they can rest, recover, or retreat when needed.

I want to travel and spend time with my husband. I want to be a philanthropist who spends my time and money making people’s dreams come true. I want to be on the front lines, fighting the good fight of faith. I would like to establish a legacy of love that will outlive me. I want it to be ever so clear that my kingdom is not of this world. I would like to have the peace of mind that I did my absolute best with raising my children. I wish to offer safe places for people to grow in grace and their knowledge of Christ.

I would like to reach the lost, unchurched, displaced, overlooked, underprivileged, wealthy, celebrated and well-respected, all for the sake of the gospel.  I want to be a connector of dots, an agent of change, prisoner of hope, facilitator of dreams, shifter of paradigms, distributer of kindness and a conduit for reconciliation.

I want to love the Lord my God in such a way that even if I don’t quote chapter and verse my life is a living epistle known and read among men. I want to be so refreshingly radiant that when people admire my character or beauty I can bring God glory by boldly declaring that I don’t look like what I have walked through.  I want to give all the glory and honor to the One who made me lovely, fearfully and wonderfully.

I want my children to be my friends. I want my friends to be my family. I want my Jesus to be my all. With all that I am, think, say or do I want Christ to be glorified, flesh to be crucified, my soul to be sanctified, and my God to be glorified. 

wordswag_1479838736292

Thank you for taking the time to read who I wish to become 10 years from now. I believe that everyone has a desire to be a better version of themselves. How often do you think about the future? What lessons have you learned from the power of hindsight? Who do you want to be when you grow up? I think that all of our destinies are tied to each other. Perhaps there is a desire of my heart that would meet your future aspiration. The bottom line is that we need each other. Watching your dreams come true would be fufillment of my own. Looking forward to your response!

Leave a Reply

