Sowing in Tears Reaping in Joy

Do your creative passions seem to be competing with one another? Are you going through a tough time emotionally and it seems to be hindering your creative juices from flowing? Be encouraged, pain and oppression often precede praise and productivity. You will dream again. You will laugh, sing, reap, dance or write again.20160927_103241
Psalm 126:1-5 (NKJV)
When the Lord brought back the captivity of Zion,
We were like those who dream.
Then our mouth was filled with laughter,
And our tongue with singing.
Then they said among the nations,
“The Lord has done great things for them.”
The Lord has done great things for us,
And we are glad.
Bring back our captivity, O Lord,
As the streams in the South.
Those who sow in tears
Shall reap in joy.
Creativity is comprehensive. When I am walking through a creative crisis it effects everything that I do. My initial thought is to quit but, once I move beyond giving up I usually get better. Recently while writing, a software glitch caused me to lose everything. I laid in the floor in the fetal position and cried. After I calmed down I was able to recall most of what I wrote. My husband was able to later recover my initial piece and much to my surprise, what I wrote the second time was better than before. My crisis was a blessing in disguise.
If you are currently in a creative crisis take note that it is a necessary part of your process that will produce invaluable growth. Great joy comes from completing a project that you wanted to give up on. While walking through it feels like it’s killing you, but what is worse is to stop creating altogether and feel as though a part of you is dying. The only way to live is to overcome. When you sow in tears be reminded that your current crisis is fertile ground for future joy. Keep going!
Share about a time in which your breakdown led to your breakthrough.
Leave a Reply

